Enigma

Enigma

Shot was taken at Roosevelt Park on Jan 25 during the mini snow storm we had.

Surprisingly, there were quite a few people walking around there during the snow storm and it’s always a little awkward to do self portraits when you’re being watched.

This was one of my more successful composite shots, the editing took about a little over “way too long” and I’m still not 100% satisfied with it, it’s missing something… like a texture layer and I think I could have chosen a better color fill. So I’ll probably go back to touch this up in the future.

It’s good to know I didn’t waste $12 on a Rubik’s Cube at Barne’s and Noble’s.

3 comments

  1. I quite like this, really like how you have placed the cubes, draws you into the picture. Since you said you’re not satisfied I hope you don’t mind me saying something, maybe it is the colour difference between the weather and cubes? I like it how it is and it’s something I keep saying I’ll try but never do. Maybe you can give me some tips? 🙂

    1. Thanks for the comment! Yeah, the yellowish color fill for the background was a bad choice and as for the cubes I already desaturated them a lot, they were way too vibrant before. The black & white version looks good, but as for the colored one, I’ll have to go back to it.

      As for tips… I’d try with a solid object for your first attempt. My first try was with a mason jar, the transparency and the reflections on it makes it way more difficult to photoshop. Shoot with the same settings and same lighting too.

Leave a Reply

